District at a Glance

Tinsukia district is situated at the extreme north east corner of Assam. The district shares its borders with the three districts of Arunachal Pradesh which are, Changlang, Namsai and Lower Dibang Valley districts. The district is inhabited by various communities mainly Moran, Motok, Adivasi, Tai Ahom, Sonowal Kachari, Nepali, Singpho, Bengali, Marwari and Bihari.

The ancient name of Tinsukia was Bengmara. It was the capital of the Motok kingdom. Motok Raja Sarbananda Singh established his capital at Rangagarh on the banks of river Guijan. In 1791 AD, he transferred his capital to the city of Bengmara, the present Tinsukia town. It was declared as the 23rd district of Assam on 1st October, 1989, with three Sub Divisions -Tinsukia, Margherita and Sadiya. Since 1st January, 2015, Sadiya Sub Division was declared as a Police district with the creation of the Office of the Superintendent of Police, Sadiya. Tinsukia district is famous for its Tea Industry, Coal Mines and the OIL Refinery, which is the oldest Oil production centre in Asia. Many animals are found in the district which is covered by dense Reserved Forests and greenery all around. National Highway No.37 passes through the district. National Highway No.38 goes towards Arunachal Pradesh. Tinsukia is also a railway junction.

Tehsils :

Lok Sabha Constituencies:
1.Dibrugarh (Shared with Dibrugarh district)
2. Lakhimpur (Shared with Lakhimpur and Dhemaji district)

Assembly Seats
1. Tinsukia
2. Digboi
3. Doomdooma
4. Margherita
5. Sadiya.

Chabua constituency of Dibrugarh district covers most of the areas under Panitola and Borguri, Rangagora area of Tinsukia town.

Total Area: 3,790 Km (1,460 Sq miles)
Population 2011 Census:1,316,948
Literacy: 70.92 %

¬© Assam Police Tinsukia 2015 | Powered by Web.com(India) Pvt. Ltd.